flutes

I present to you the Native American Flutes and  Maya.

Traditionally they are instruments of rituals and  ceremonies. They are very intuitive instruments very easy to play, they do not require any  musical predisposition  to quickly get out of it pretty melodies.  As for the  making Kora I wear a  special interest in  respect for traditions and am very sensitive and attentive to  spiritual and sacred parts of  instruments however the objects that I propose  are above all  perfectly tuned musical instruments (440Hz  or 432Hz), where accuracy and sound quality take precedence.

I am currently making 3 models  (soon new types of flutes will be offered):

.Native American flute  simple

.American Indian double flute  (drone)

.Flute  Mayan Temple (tunable drone)

The Native American flute is a 6-hole flute, allowing to play the scale  minor pentatonic (5 notes plus  the octave so  6 notes) for its traditional mode but it is also possible to extend to other scales (see scale fingerings below  of pages).

Native American Flutes

Double Native American flutes

Exactly like the simple Native American flute except that here there are two columns of air, one with holes to play the melody and the second without holes to play the drone (or bumblebee). The drone is tuned to the fundamental of the flute, it gives an even deeper, more captivating presence and sound.

The two holes at the mouthpiece allow each column of air to be played independently and therefore to be played with or without the drone.

Mayan Temple Flutes

Exactly like the Native American double flute  except here the drone is tunable, 3  holes with removable plugs allow to choose between the 5  drone notes.

This instrument offers a great wealth of sound and melodies.

Totems

The piece on the top of the flute intended for  directing the air towards the whistle and thus producing the sound is called the Totem. It is removable in order to clean the instrument and remove the humidity created by condensation during play. Traditionally and generally it is maintained by a leather lace.

I invented a new means of maintenance allowing to remove and put it back much more quickly  thanks to small magnets  embedded in  each  pieces of wood.

The options

. Fixing the Totems with laces or magnets

.Sculpture of  Custom totems

.Central thread

.Wood species different from  body at mouth and bell

.Precious wood

.Others: your inspirations will be mine

Gallery

Scale fingerings

Flûtes

Je vous présente les Flûtes Amérindiennes et Maya.

Traditionnellement ce sont des instruments de rituels et de cérémonies. Ce sont des instruments très intuitifs très facile à jouer, ils ne requiert aucune prédisposition musical pour rapidement en sortir de jolies mélodies. Comme pour la  fabrication des Kora je porte un intérêt particulier au respect des traditions et suis très sensible et attentif aux parts spirituelles et sacrés des  instruments cependant les objets que je propose  sont avant tout des  instruments de musique parfaitement accordés (440Hz ou 432Hz), où la justesse et la qualité sonore prime.

Je fabrique actuellement 3 modèles (bientôt de nouveaux types de flutes seront proposés):

.Flute Amérindienne simple

.Flute Amérindienne double (drone)

.Flute Temple Mayan (drone accordable)

La flûte amérindienne est une flûte à 6 trous, permettant de jouer la gamme pentatonique mineur (5 notes plus l'octave donc 6 notes) pour son mode traditionnelle mais il est également possible d'étendre à d'autres gammes (voir le doigtés des gammes en bas de page).

Flûtes Amérindiennes

Flûtes Amérindiennes doubles

Exactement comme la flute amérindienne simple sauf qu'ici il y a deux colonnes d'air, l'une avec des trous pour jouer la mélodie et la seconde sans trous pour jouer le drone (ou bourdon). Le drone est accordé à la fondamentale de la flûte, il donne une présence et un son encore plus profond, plus envoutant.

Les deux trous au niveau de l'embouchure permettent de jouer chaque colonne d'air indépendamment et donc de jouer avec ou sans le drone.

Flûtes Temple Mayan

Exactement comme la flute amérindienne double sauf qu'ici le drone est accordable, 3 trous avec des bouchons amovibles permettent de choisir entre les 5 notes du drone.

Cet instrument offre grande une richesse de son et de mélodies.

Les Totems

La pièce sur le sommet de la flûte déstinée à diriger l'air vers le sifflet et ainsi produire le son s'appelle le Totem. Il est amovible afin de nettoyer l'instrument et retirer l'humidité créer par la condensation lors du jeux. Traditionnellement et généralement il est maintenu par un lacet en cuir.

J'ai inventé un nouveau moyen de maintien permettant de le retirer et le remettre beaucoup plus rapidement grâce à de petits aimants incrustés dans chaque pièces de bois.

Les options

. Fixation des Totems par lacets ou aimants

.Sculpture de Totems personnalisés

.Fileterie centrale

.Essences de bois différente du corps au niveau de l'embouchure et la cloche

.Bois précieux

.Autres: vos inspirations seront les miennes

Galerie

Doigtés des gammes